Les Amis – Brisbane

Les Amis is a small little bistro in the Valley, tucked away in Green Square.  One of Mr Ana’s friends took him there for lunch one day, and Mr Ana insisted that I try it for dinner.

We went on a Wednesday night, when they have their dinner special on – it was packed inside by the time we were ready to order (clearly the dinner special nights are popular).  The dinner special is held on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and you can get two courses and a glass of wine for $40.

I ordered the duck and foie gras terrine for my entree, which came with pickled walnuts and a cherry compote.  The terrine was delicious and creamy, very pleasant to eat.  While not as delicate as some other terrines I’ve tried, it was rustic in flavour.  The cherry compote was quite intense, but went very well with the terrine.  I enjoyed the pickled walnuts, however I’m a fan of pickled anything (well, almost anything).

Duck and foie gras terrine - Les Amis

Mr Ana ordered the confit pork rillette, which was just beautiful.  The pork was prepared in a way that almost reminded me of fresh pork floss, and the flavours reminded me of a well seasoned home made meat pate.  I’m not going to think too hard about what the pork was preserved in, otherwise I wouldn’t have wished I could have another serving!

For my main I ordered pork loin with parsnip puree.  The pork loin pan fried to lock in the juices before being popped into the oven to roast.  It was slightly pink inside so it was still quite juicy.  However I couldn’t help but wish they used a less lean cut of pork so it would be even more juicier – but overall it was enjoyable.  The parsnip puree was fine with no woody-ness in it – very creamy and well prepared.  I also enjoyed the roasted leeks which were slightly carmelised.  A pleasant dish.

Pork loin - Les Amis

Mr Ana had the confit duck which was simply prepared.  It reminded me of a duck dish we had in Paris, however minus the crispy skin.  While it was a nice and uncomplex dish, I think we both preferred my main.

We shared a chocolate fondant for dessert.  It came with condensed milk ice cream – yum!  If you are a fan of condensed milk, you would love this ice cream……  The chocolate fondant was rich and was nice and gooey inside.  It wasn’t quite as nice as a chocolate fondant I had in Chez Janou in Paris, I still enjoyed it.

Chocolate fondant with condensed milk ice cream - Les Amis

I enjoyed dining in Les Amis as it was a casual little restaurant that served good ol bistro food.  I will definitely return.  I know that Mr Ana has been back at least twice since we dined there – so clearly he is a bit of a fan!

Les Amis
515 St Pauls Terrace
Fortitude Valley 4006
Les Amis on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Australia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

